VirtualAdvisor allows institutions to build custom question and response content to share with students. The process between creating and editing content to the point where the student can view these changes has to go through a workflow to ensure that an institution is satisfied with the tone and confidence of the response before these updates are published for use.
VirtualAdvisor Content Workflow
There are two general ways of adding and editing content that go through this workflow. Users such as Admins and Content Managers can create and edit custom content from the VirtualAdvisor > Manage Content page, under the Content tab. These roles also have the ability to teach VirtualAdvisor how to associate responses that have a low confidence (meaning VirtualAdvisor gave an answer but didn't have high confidence in the answer) or were unable to respond to. Users can teach VirtualAdvisor responses within the VirtualAdvisor > Training Workflow page.
As responses are being created/refined and saved, these updates aren't immediately available to students who are chatting with VirtualAdvisor - all of these changes are waiting in a queue to train VirtualAdvisor. By clicking the Train button in VirtualAdvisor > Manage Content, all of the updates are now taught to VirtualAdvisor but still not published for students to see.
Once trained, users can simulate a conversation with the updated content using the Test VirtualAdvisor tool. By default the simulation is set to feature all of the unpublished content recently added to ask questions and see the new responses. It can be set to feature only published content if your institution wants to simulate the conversation with only the published content and see the difference.
- Note: Using Test VirtualAdvisor is not a required step to publishing the content, but is highly recommended to avoid publishing content with any errors.
An optional step in the workflow is to set up an approval process. Once new/updated content has gone through the training process, these items will appear in an approval queue found in VirtualAdvisor > Manage Content > Approval tab. Admin and Content Approver users may view (but not edit) and approve the content in the queue. If a change is required or needs to be denied, an Admin or Content Manager should make the necessary updates in the Content tab. Applying/removing the approval process can be managed in Settings > Basic Settings by enabling/disabling the "Enable Content Approval" toggle.
The final step is to publish content when ready. Content that is ready to publish will be queued and found in the VirtualAdvisor > Manage Content > Ready to Publish tab. If the approval process is on, content will be added to this queue as it is approved, otherwise without an approval process all trained content will immediately appear in the queue. Admin and Content Publish users may click on the Publish button to commit all of the changes and publish the content for students to see immediately.
- Note: If approvals are enabled, ALL content in the approval queue must be approved before Publishing is available.
Overrides to default global content done through the VirtualAdvisor > Override Global Content page do not require training and publishing. These updates are saved immediately but may take up to 15 minutes to reflect on the student side.
Content brought in through the Ingest FAQ process do not require training and publishing. These updates are saved and reflect on the student side immediately.
At times a reviewer may consider not approving updates to published content that sit in the Approval or Ready to Publish tabs. This may be updates pertaining to questions/alternative phrasing, the response itself, the associated category, and/or videos. The Revert feature allows the user to restore the question back to its original state at the time of the last publish, so that any edits made will not reflect in the next publish.
Both the Approval and Ready to Publish tabs show the "Change" indicator to explain what's happening to an item. The following status can be found:
- Edit - an edit has been made to the question, response, category, and/or video
- Delete - this item is marked to be removed from the library of institutional content
- Add - this can appear for two separate instances:
- a brand new question/response item has been created, never been published
- a published item has had additional alternative phrasing added to it - nothing else has been edited
Along with the "Change" indication, users have the ability to Revert individual items back to their original state. This reverts the edits made for anything shown as "Edit", unflags at item from being deleted for anything shown as "Delete", and removes the alternative phrasing added for anything shown as "Add". The only instance something cannot be reverted is when the item is a brand new question - if a user wishes to edit/delete the item, they must do so in the Manage Content page.
Additionally, once an item has been reverted, the institution must run the Train feature again. Because the edits were done and trained to be queued for publish, the reverted content has to be trained again to replace, or "un-train" the edited content.